on holiday

I’ve been on spring break for the past week. The parts of it that I haven’t spent road tripping through the greater Boston area or curled up in the library working on assignments have been devoted solely to the languorous task of watching some enjoyably cheesy YouTube videos of 1970s superstars in their prime.

My personal favorite? Charo. What would my late night “The Love Boat” marathons be without her sequins, Spanish accent, and trademark “cuchi-cuchi”? She’s unabashedly ridiculous, and that is something to admire. Her sparkly effervescence is on display in the music video for her 1977 single “Dance A Little Bit Closer” from her album entitled (you guessed it) “Cuchi-Cuchi.”

Now I wish I’d spent my break doing “The Hustle” down a Las Vegas street.

Leave a Reply

